CSA Standards Announces 2011 Awards Recipients for Outstanding Achievement

CSA Standards, a leading standards-based solutions organization, is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2011 Awards for Outstanding Achievement. In its fifth year, CSA Standards Awards are presented to individuals, committees and organizations for exceptional service and achievement in the area of standards development. The ceremony was hosted by Bonnie Rose, President, CSA Standards, at the Legends Club in Cleveland Browns Stadium.

“It is my deepest honor to personally thank all the winners of the CSA Standards’ 2011 Awards for Outstanding Achievement and contributions towards standards development,” said Rose. “We applaud their leadership, knowledge, personal commitment and dedication towards standards, and for helping create a better, safer, and more sustainable world.”

Personal Award of Distinction

In the category of Personal Award of Distinction, individuals are honored for remarkable leadership with the CSA standards programs over the tenure of their service. The 2011 recipients are:

  • Peter Baker of Hamilton, ON started his career in standards in 1992 and participated on numerous natural gas related technical advisory groups and committees. He was a founding member of the P.41 Technical Committee for Gas Fireplace Efficiency in Canada and has lent his expertise in the industry in improving overall gas fireplace safety and efficiency. He is a voting member of the B149 Technical Committee for the Canadian Gas Installation Code, is actively involved in other CSA standards committees and is the current Chairman of the Manual Valves Technical Advisory Group. Mr. Baker presently works as a Field Engineer with Maxitrol Company.
  • Carl Suchovsky of Cleveland, Ohio has been a decisive voice in the gas standards industry for more than 30 years. Beginning with the initial stages of standards development, right through to the completion and revision of standards, Mr. Suchovsky is actively involved in each step. He was also a driving force behind having existing standards revised to reflect new technologies and product trends. He is a voting member on 13 different CSA standards committee groups and volunteers his time and expertise to serve on many working groups when needed. Mr. Suchovsky is President of Gas Consultants, Inc.

Corporate Award of Merit

The Corporate Award of Merit is given for outstanding achievement by a participating company or organization based on a high level of involvement in CSA standards programs and a demonstrated effort supporting CSA programs within and outside the organization. This year’s receiving organization is:

  • American Gas Association, headquartered in Washington, D.C., and its representatives have been safety advocates for the natural gas industry since their formation in 1918. The AGA offered its full support and helped coordinate efforts within the gas industry when a need for a single installation code was expressed culminating in a National Fuel Gas Code. The AGA also created a valuable service to the gas industry by sponsoring the American Gas Association Laboratories which was responsible for developing many of the parent standards in place today. The AGAL also provides third-party testing for those standards. A solid supporter of CSA, the AGA actively promotes CSA standards and references them in other model codes and also supports CSA as the premier gas appliance safety standards in the US.

Division Medal

The Division Medal is given for outstanding work by a Technical Advisory Group or committee in protecting consumer safety. This year’s receiving organization is:

  • Gas Food Service Equipment Technical Advisory Group, a group that made significant contributions to the advancement of safety standards for more than 15 years. The TAG broke new ground by developing the first harmonized standard with Canada that combined electric and gas components into one document. They have also made strides by creating one harmonized standard for various appliances. Committee members also motioned to move the Z21 standard to a Z83 commercial standard so as to better serve the commercial products it covered. The TAG supported the revision which has enhanced safety of high-powered professional products and changed the way commercial products are sold and serviced in the marketplace.

Service Awards

CSA Standards Service Awards were also presented to 46 individuals in appreciation for their commitment to CSA Standards programs as voting members of one or more Technical Advisory Groups or Technical Committees for at least five years of uninterrupted service, and with an active participation level.

About CSA Standards

CSA Standards is a leading standards-based solutions organization serving industry, government, consumers and other interested parties in North America and the global marketplace. Focusing on standards and codes development, application products, training, advisory and personnel certification services, the organization aims to enhance public safety, improve quality of life, preserve the environment and facilitate trade. CSA Standards is a division of CSA Group, which also consists of CSA International, which provides testing and certification services for electrical, mechanical, plumbing, gas and a variety of other products; and OnSpeX, a provider of consumer product evaluation, inspection and advisory services for retailers and manufacturers. For more information visit www.csa.ca


Jennifer Lui
Corporate Communications Officer
CSA Group
[email protected]


September 22, 2011