61508 Approved Company Certification

Obtaining a company certification under IEC 61508 demonstrates that your company has the capability to supply safety-related products and services that conform to the requirements of IEC 61508.

The scope of the certification covers your management system for functional safety and the lifecycle activities that are appropriate to what you supply (for example, SIL determination, hardware/software development, product manufacture, systems integration, installation, maintenance, etc). These aspects are often referred to as ‘Functional Safety Capability.’

Certification is highly respected in the market and marks the company out as a serious supplier with the capability to ensure functional safety is achieved for every deliverable.

CSA Group’s Approved Company certificates bear the UKAS mark, which is recognised internationally.

Once Approved Company certification is achieved, obtaining Approved Product certifications (if these are subsequently required) is much more straightforward as the lifecycle and management aspects are already approved.

The assessment does not duplicate work already covered under an appropriate quality management scheme, such as ISO 9001, but concentrates on the additional requirements for functional safety.

Please contact us for more information about Approved Company Certification.

Explore more

Learn more about the CSA Group

IEC 61508 Technical Advice & Training right-arrow

CSA Group has developed technical advice sessions to explain the involvement...

IEC 61508 & 61511 Healthcheck right-arrow

Control systems are a risky business for plant operators and the consequences...

61508 Approved Product Certification right-arrow

IEC 61508 certified products are more likely to extend market penetration and offer...

The CASS Scheme right-arrow

CSA Group (Sira Certification Service) has gained accreditation from the United Kingdom...

61508 Association right-arrow

The 61508 Association is a cross-industry group of organisations with an interest...