Intermatic Inc. et CSA International annoncent le rappel volontaire de certaines minuteries numériques

PAR 01-09 février 17, 2009

En collaboration avec CSA International Inc., Intermatic de Spring Grove, IL, a annoncé aujourd’hui le rappel volontaire d’environ 200 000 minuteries lourdes série DT17 ; environ 23 000 d’entre elles ont été vendues au Canada dans des emballages marqués modèle « DT17C70 »). Les minuteries numériques disposent d’un contact de terre interne qui peut être mal aligné. Dans certaines circonstances, ce désalignement pourrait permettre un contact intermittent avec la broche de terre d’une fiche à trois broches d’un produit branché dans le réceptacle de la minuterie. Si le produit branché sur la minuterie est défaillant, cela pourrait entraîner un risque de choc électrique.

Le fabricant n’a pas reçu de rapports de blessures, d’incendies ou des chocs liés à ce produit.

La minuterie numérique concernée par ce rappel est le modèle DT17C70 (portant la mention « DT17 » sur sa plaque signalétique) avec les codes de date de 40Z à 52Z, 01A à 52A, 01B à 52B et 01C à 52C. Le codage de date peuvent être trouvé sur le dos ou le bas de l’appareil. Les minuteries numériques sont de couleur gris clair.

Les grands magasins et les centres d’équipement ménager ont vendu ces minuteries numériques dans tout le pays de septembre 2005 à décembre 2008 pour un prix compris entre 20,00 et 30,00 dollars.

Les consommateurs doivent immédiatement cesser l’utilisation de ces minuteries numériques rappelées et appeler Intermatic Inc. au 1-800-704-3595 en tout temps pour obtenir des instructions sur la façon d’obtenir un remplacement des pièces défectueuses, visitez le site Web de Intermatic à l’adresse [Asset Inclus (Id: 1363880739987; Type: CSA_Module_C)], ou écrire à Intermatic Inc., S/C Service Technique à 7777 Winn Road, Spring Grove, IL 60081.

[Asset Included(Id:1363880849190;Type:CSA_Module_C)]  Version française disponible   [Asset Included(Id:1363880740015;Type:CSA_Media_C)]

Communiquer avec nous

Anthony Toderian
Senior Media Relations Officer CSA Group
416-747-2620
[email protected]

Intermatic Inc and CSA International announce the voluntary recall of certain digital timers

PAR 01-09 February 17, 2009

In cooperation with CSA International, Intermatic Inc. of Spring Grove, IL, today announced the voluntary recall of approximately 200,000 DT17 Series heavy duty timers (approximately 23,000 of them were sold in Canada in packages marked as model “DT17C70″). The digital timers have an internal grounding contact that may be misaligned. In some circumstances, this misalignment could allow for an intermittent contact with the ground pin of a three-prong plug of a product plugged into the timer’s receptacle. This could pose a potential shock hazard should there be a failure of the product that is plugged into the timer.

The manufacturer has received no reports of injuries, fires or shocks related to this product.

The digital timer affected by this recall is model DT17C70 (marked as “DT17” on its nameplate) with date codes 40Z through 52Z, 01A through 52A, 01B through 52B and 01C through 52C. The date coding can be found on the back or the bottom of the unit. The digital timers are light grey in colour.

Major department stores and home building supply houses sold these digital timers nationwide from September 2005 through December 2008 for between $20.00 to $30.00.

Consumers should stop using the recalled digital timers immediately and call Intermatic Inc. at 1-800-704-3595 anytime for instructions on how to obtain a replacement for the defective units, visit the Intermatic web site atwww.intermatic.com , or write to Intermatic Inc., c/o Technical Service, at 7777 Winn Road, Spring Grove, IL 60081.

About CSA International

CSA International is a provider of product testing and certification services for electrical, mechanical, plumbing, gas and a variety of other products. Recognized in the U.S., Canada and around the world, CSA’s marks appear on billions of products worldwide. CSA International is a division of CSA Group, which also includes: CSA, a developer of standards and codes; and OnSpeX for consumer product evaluation services. CSA International can be found online at www.csa-international.org.
Version française disponible

Digital timer

Contact

Anthony Toderian
Senior Media Relations Officer CSA Group
416-747-2620
anthony.toderian@csagroup.org